Update: 08.07.2019

Additional Protocols to the European Convention on Human Rights

The European Convention on Human Rights (ECHR) is complemented by sixteen additional protocols. Additional protocols 1, 4, 6, 7, 12, and 13 contain substantive provisions that provide further rights than the ECHR (such as the protection of property, in Additional Protocol No. 1 Art. 1) or extended human rights (Additional Protocol 12 enhances the limited ban on discrimination as defined in Art. 14 ECHR to include a general ban on discrimination).

The further additional protocols changed the course of procedures before court or gave more competencies to the tribunal. What is of particular importance, is that these procedural changes always apply to all member states (since they change the ECHR). Therefore these additional protocols, compared to the substantive provisions additional protocols, generally have to be signed and ratified by all member states before they can enter into force. Older procedural additional protocol were gradually superseded by more recent ones. Only the additional protocols 11 and 17 are of relevance today.

© humanrights.ch / MERS - Hallerstr. 23 - CH-3012 Bern - Tel. +41 31 302 01 61